Day3 Feb 27, 2022

Got busy with work so, I didn’t get the chance to post. However, that doesn’t mean I didn’t track my food. I am a diligent person (ahm…ahm…).

Coffee
Protein pancake with whipped cream and blueberries (didn’t calculate calories)

whipped cream was only 40 cal and it was so satisfying. Get the low fat version of it and eat it like treat.

Butter Grit with roasted chilli, 100 cal, (amazing yum, it tasted like popcorn and was so satisfying)

You may ask what is roasted chilli. My mum used to make it and it will just add flavor to whateveryou are eating. This was my first time to make it. I was nervous because it was my first time, it was chilli and I couldn’t find any video or article about how to prep it. I just went with my gut and thank god I didn’t burn the house, phewww.

I took 3 jalapenos. They are the most hot peppers I could find. Slit them from middle, avoid cutting them completely, just a deep enough slit. Fill this slit with salt, just eyeball it. Sprinkle some olive oil and leave it on low flame. Toss them once in every 5 min. until their water starts to evoporate.

And this is how they will look like in the end. I know not so pretty but really good for flavor enhancing. I have medium heat tolerance and they worked for me. I didn’t feel so spicy.

2 tortia wraps, 100 cal pic, 10 gram prt
2 tbsp hummus, 140 cal, 4gram protein
4 tbsp paneer (cottage cheese) bhurji, 120 gram, cal? prt?

Random corn chips with salsa and hummus (too busy in eating didn’t care about tracking info)

1 almond today as well (lol!)

Leftover french style cheesecake musse, 150 cal

Burger with swiss chesse, 400 cal and some fries on the side (I didn’t eat all of the fries just some)

Wayback Burgers (I actually liked it and I don’t like fast food. I can come to this place again. This store has chains all over the USA. Fun fact: it was founded in Newark, Delaware.

It was hard to calculate accurate calories and nutritional info because I didn’t prep the food. This is my third day and everyday I am having new understanding a new angle that why my food habits changed now. Today I am realising that lack of variety is also a big factor me gravitating for chips and chocolate. I was surrounded by so many variety of food, you name it, countries like Mangolia, Vietname, Thailand, South Korea, China, Japan, Loas, Turkey, Italy, France, Myanmar, Spain and more etc. All of them have very rich food culture and it was readily available to me in student price (affordable price). However, I don’t have access of this kind of variety at present. It is not easy to start making other countries food just by watching youtube videos. I mean you might can suceed for few recipes but not for all. The amount of effort it takes to buy each ingredient for the recipes and time put in prep and cooking is a lot. I feel like my days, weeks, all of my free time is going into thinking about what next I want to eat. That’s the kind of cooking I don’t want but I still want variety. This is my journey to figure out things and it requires time and patience.

There is no point to calculate total cal and protein today. They were all over the place. It’s ok, the whole point of creating the food library is not to be focused on cal and macros for now. The goal is to start eating food everyday.

So, overall what I have learned until now:

1. Cook meal in advance, don’t wait to cook meal until you are hungry.
2. Include varity, flavors and ingredients.

Published by Phdifestyles

I am a researcher (PhD student) who loves to travel, cook, dance and talk about social issues. I created this blog to talk about how to manage life in and outside of lab. I will be writing here about any topic whether it's related to my work, lifestyle or social issues. So, stay tune for cheeky articles. Hope you all will enjoy my writing.

Leave a comment